Sunday, August 14, 2011

Forgive my Fins (Fins #1) by Tera Lynn Childs

Title:  Forgive My Fins
Author:  Tera Lynn Childs
Part of Series or Standalone:  First book in series
Published: May 19, 2010 and a paperback version that includes some extra fun stuff, June 28, 2011
Publisher:  Katherine Tegen Books

Forgive My Fins is the first book of the Fins series by Tera Lynn Childs.

Three years ago, Lily Sanderson lived all of her life in Thalassinia as a mermaid princess.  But this changed, when she found out her mother, who is dead, was human.  She decides to live with her Aunt Rachel and go to Seaview High, the same high school that her mother went.  Aunt Rachel is the only human that she talks to that knows she is a mermaid.  Lily has fallen in love with Brody Bennett.  She’s convinced they are meant to be together because she believes they have so much in common such as the love of water.  Brody Bennett is currently a part of the swim team, and ever since she saw him, she’s been drawn to him.  This is the main reason she decided to live on the human world. 

Shannen, Lily’s best friend, convinced her to ask Brody to the Spring Fling, but when she finally gets the courage, her attempt his thwarted by her next-door neighbor, Quince Fletcher.  Quince always finds a way to push Lily’s button.  Quince tells Lily that he could help her pursue Brody.  Why on earth would Quince want to help her?  Can she muster enough courage to ask Brody to the dance, and if so, what will he say? 

I loved this book.  I’ve always loved The Little Mermaid.  Most young adult books out there now are darker, but this is a magical, upbeat book that fans of mermaids would delight in reading. I know I did.  I definitely found myself laughing at the moments when Quince was pushing Lily’s button.  There is a second book out now, Fins are Forever. 

No comments:

Post a Comment